RSS

Nostalgia

19 Jul

Well, I’ve not updated at all as of late, so I’ll share with you some of my illustrations to fill up space.  Also, I’m throwing these in as I go, so here comes unexpected nostalgia!

Edit: I forgot to throw in earlier an apology for the poor quality of some of the images… which were taken with my phone… which isn’t a smartphone or other cool equivalent.

Great story behind this one.  Ninth grade study hall, I never did anything but draw and doodle and talk and other stuff that didn’t relate to studying.  Tenth grade, I met the love of my life for the first time, and we only kept getting closer to one another.  First time he came over, he saw this tacked onto my bedroom wall and was completely creeped out because the boy looks just like he did, and he and my father both thought I drew that after meeting him.  Alas, it was a year earlier.

Though, I suppose it’s really no surprise that I ended up dating a guy who looked like this one, considering this may have been some sort of… indication of my dream guy.

Either way, it’s a story that is shared everywhere that I post this picture.

 

This is something I drew for Gary within a short time of dating him.  Decent story with this as well.

I believe I was in journalism, bored as ever because… journalism’s just not my thing, man.  Anyway, I started drawing the people, then kind of drifted to their ghostly fading-ness at their “feet”.  For some reason, I wasn’t pleased with how this was turning out, so I began angrily scribbling black ink along the bottom of the page… and then it started coming together, almost like I had meant for it to happen that way.

I used up so much ink on the background that I ended up switching from one pen to another.  In person, you can even tell because there’s a spot in the background where one black area just doesn’t seem to match another black area (because they were two different pens).

This is a pretty important part of my life, I think.

I went through a phase when I was horribly obsessed with bunnies, particularly these two black and white ones that I used for everything lovey-dovey.

Not much to say here, aside from the fact that a lot of tax dollars that were supposed to be used for my education were instead used for doodle time for me.  Sorry, America.  (It’s okay, because I’m sure my tax dollars are being wasted on your kids as well, now that I’m a working adult).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, look!  COLOR!  For real, you won’t see that very often.  I like monochromatic schemes.

This was… okay, this will be incredibly lame.  Ever heard of Gaia Online?  If you said “no”, good for you.  If you said “yeah, I have an account,” then I’m sorry.  Just kidding.  Anyway, it’s basically a site where anime nerds from all around gather for… whatever reason.  My boyfriend and I have accounts, and this was simply my take on his character on the site, who typically wears a wolf skin, but I prefer to think of him as a werewolf.

Let me know what you think, as I’m not really fond of color, but it did add a lot of life to this, no doubt.

This was honestly a bad time in my life.  I think I’ll spare the details, not because it’s painful, but because it’s uninteresting.

Sometimes, love is a battlefield, and there are bombs falling all around.  Flames and passion hungrily consume everything you’ve ever known, and it can always end tragically — either the flames devour everything and you’re left with nothing, or they burn so fiercely that they run out of fuel too quickly and you’re left with no more passion. Less tragically, they may just consume all your fears, but leave your hopes intact.  People need that kind of fire in their hearts.

I think I’ll end this on that cheesily poetic note and let you enjoy the rest of your day.  Feedback is always appreciated — inspiration is always recommended.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2011 in Art

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Nostalgia

  1. Patty pat pat

    July 20, 2011 at 10:00 AM

    Fantastic, absolutely loved the last two!!!!! (:

     
  2. kharismatickayteh

    July 20, 2011 at 11:15 AM

    Thank you, Patrick.

    I think I’ll have to moderate this post further… because words keep sliding around everywhere that I’d rather them not.

     

Leave a Reply

 
