RSS

Sacrifice Some Style

02 May

Ahh, first post — I’m feeling a bit nervous.  How about you?  Of course not.  You’re just bored because I’m not getting on with my point.  Well, this is my first time, so you’ll have to forgive me for being so evasive.  Let’s get started.

I love photography.  Many people don’t consider it an art, but undoubtedly, there is some magic in capturing a moment of time in two dimensions, frozen forever.  This moment of time can be either altered to make something more magical, it can stand on its own to tell a story, or it can even be used alongside a story to make the viewer think a bit.  Sometimes the photographer just wants you, the viewer, to think, “What if this could happen,” or “What would people think if they had ever seen such a thing?”

So I’ve not stated outright what this is about.  This is about testing your abilities, even if doing so means using styles that don’t feel like you.  The following images are works that I have done that I can hardly stand — but they are still popular with viewers.

Possibly the first work of mine to catch people's eyes.

Yes, I love photography, but honestly, some people don’t see eye-to-eye with me on what is aesthetic, what is beautiful.  The work featured above is my own, and I don’t even like it, to tell you the truth.  I’m sure you’ve seen pictures all over the web, usually on some kid’s MySpace, of creepy and rainbowrific eyes.  Well, this was an attempt at that.  I despise this effect, truly.  However, my goal was simply to test my abilities, and I did — and people loved it.  This has received much praise on Flickr and even won me a contest on Flickr’s official Picnik group.

Another hit I consider a miss.

My very best friend, Bijou, seen in a style I don’t really consider my own.  This one isn’t nearly as popular as the previous image, but it has received positive feedback.  Sadly, it seems to me that my favorite works are not nearly as renowned as the ones I scarcely like.

A recent work, meant to awaken my sleepy creativity.

Now, I despise most any form of nature photography (no offense to those of you who specialize in it — I just don’t like it because I’m not particularly good at it, so you should keep rocking those flower shots)!  Due to my lack of a computer for the past year or two, I had set down my camera and hardly made any effort to take pictures, but hey, that’s alright — I’m back in the game now.  Anyway, I do somewhat like the overall composition, but this is still out of my comfort zone.  That’s okay.

I’m sorry that I’m so amateur at this, and I’m sorry that I haven’t posted more pictures (mainly because I don’t want to bore you).  Overall, my goal is just to shed a little light.  If you’re feeling in a slump because you haven’t done much photography, or any art, lately, or perhaps you’re just picking up the camera and you’re unsure of where to start, I highly recommend you do something you’re uncomfortable with.  Aside from giving you a little practice on something new, it also gives your viewers something a little unexpected, which is almost always a breath of fresh air.  If anything, you should try something new just to see what feedback you get — perhaps your subtle vignetting is something you despise, but your viewers say you execute it well, or maybe you don’t realize just how well that mild HDR accentuates your subject, but your viewers see it.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in Art

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Sacrifice Some Style

  1. Angie

    May 4, 2011 at 2:06 AM

    I like these photos in order from last to first, as it seems you do. The eye is a little cliché, as you said, but still pretty to see. How did you get the rainbow effect? Most people use photoshop, but you said you were testing your photography skills. Very impressive.

    I would love to see some of your work that you actually like! I like the cat photo because I like cats, but even I have taken photos that look similar. I do like what you’ve done with the color, though. The last one is my favorite, probably because it’s simple and reminds me of my childhood. When I was 3 I was playing in clover and my mom asked me what I was doing. I replied, “Just looking through this Grover.”

    I would love to see your favorite pictures rather than your least favorite!

     
    • kharismatickayteh

      May 5, 2011 at 9:31 AM

      Thank you very much, Angie!

      I’ve quite a novice with photo editing, and way too poor and uncool for the programs necessary, like Photoshop, so I use Picnik.com. Many people don’t like the site, I suppose because it’s just *too* easy. The short story on the rainbow effect is that I basically just used Picnik’s tint tool repetitively.

      As for the cat, I have *so many* photos of her, but most of them I actually like. ; ). I’ll post a link to my DeviantArt gallery after my comment (though I may have a link to it on my main page — I’m not sure, since I’m so new to blogging). I must confess, I actually have grown to really like the shot of the chrysanthemum. As I said, I really hate nature photography, but when you’re in a rut and nature is pretty much all you have to shoot for the time being, it serves as wonderful practice. I spent some time outside of my boyfriend’s house in the country and got some great shots (I got 46 pictures, 40 of them were good).

      I’m really glad to hear that you made a personal connection to the last picture! It’s always nice to be reminded of something wonderful with just a little visual stimuli. Ah, as promised, here’s the link to my DA: http://o-inconsequential-x.deviantart.com/gallery/29993705
      That leads to specifically my photography, but there are folders to the left-hand side, one of which is my drawn works (in case you’re interested in that). Again, thank you so much for reading, and even more for leaving such a sincere comment.

       
      • Angie

        May 5, 2011 at 11:18 AM

        Ooh, your deviantART is great! I’m surprised you don’t have more pageviews! Your art is fantastic! I am also an artist. I just added you to my watch list. I’m maiziedog. :) You’re so young, too! Only room for improvement! I’m 22 and have had a deviantART account for 6 years now! My activity and pageviews there have gone down significantly since college but I still like to check in every once in a while.

        By the way, did you know your rainbow eye picture with a link to this page is featured in craftgawker? That’s how I found your blog. :) If you see this message in the next little while it should still be in the first couple pages. http://craftgawker.com/ (It’s on page 2 right now- 5/4/11 at 10:18 pm Mountain Time.)

         
      • kharismatickayteh

        May 8, 2011 at 12:50 AM

        Oh, my gosh! YES! I submitted this, primarily to push myself, but I did *not* expect it to actually be approved. I’ve been waiting for email to confirm it, but I guess I turned off the email notification. Thank you for this news!

        Oh, and I started following you before I even saw this comment, haha! I love your gallery! It’s absolutely lovely.

         
  2. Karli Menking

    June 16, 2011 at 3:04 AM

    I LOVE the eye picture! Beautiful. Wish I could make eyes like that. Good job

     

Leave a Reply

 
